REVIEW: SOPHIA by Anita Anand

At the end of the Victorian era, the women’s suffrage movement had an unexpected supporter. Sophia Duleep Singh was the daughter of the latest deposed Maharajah of Lahore, in India. As a teenager we was forced to give up his throne to the far-reaching British Empire. In part to prevent an uprising and in part…

REVIEW: THE STRANGLER VINE by MJ Carter

Without glorifying the colonial days of India, Carter has sketched an enjoyable adventure within these pages. India in 1837, the heydey of the British East India Company is the backdrop for two exceedingly unlikely heros. Both are Company men, and neither is happy about it. William Avery is young and finds himself broke in Calcutta.…

BOOKS for November

  Daylight savings has abandoned us to the wet and chilly days that creep into early evenings… MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron In the vein of Elmore Leonard and John Kennedy Toole, Cameron brings us the voice of Ruddy McCann. He is the quintessential has-been — former football sensation turned…

REVIEW: THE GODDESS AND THE THIEF by Essie Fox

Taking cues from The Moonstone, Essie Fox’s newest book weaves colonialist India and Victorian spiritualism together into a riveting story. Our heroine, Alice Willoughby, has had the childhood that many British children must have in those days.  She was born abroad in India, the daughter of an East India Company man and his English-born wife.  Alice’s…

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com