Book Reviews

A Cineaste’s Bookshelf

Click here for information about my book review policy.

READS for your winter break

A few days off mean more time to read. Right? Even between all the travel, parties and meals, we bibliophiles can usually find a few secret hours to read. Here are my suggestions on what to read (and what to …
Read More »

ACCENT: FOXCATCHER by Mark Schultz

In the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics, Mark Schultz won a gold medal in wrestling. His brother, Dave, won as well in a higher weight class. The Schultz brothers represented a dynasty in that part of the athletic world. From the world …
Read More »

ACCENT: THE MURDER OF HARRIET KROHN by Karin Fossum

  Scandinavian literature is still a mystery to me most of the time. I think I like it, but I can’t quite decide. That area of the world definitely has distinct modes of storytelling. Some of it is dark and …
Read More »

REVIEW: THE BOOKSHOP & others by Penelope Fitzgerald

It’s okay if you haven’t heard of Penelope Fitzgerald. I hadn’t either. I’m an English major who loves British literature and I didn’t even recognize the name, let alone seen any of her stuff. I am not a “cut-and-paster” but …
Read More »

ACCENT: THE FORGERS by Bradford Morrow

    One of my favorite authors is back with a new mystery novel — and it centers around books. The (unreliable?) narrator, Will, is a master forger. He specialized in faking inscriptions and small pieces of ephemera by classic …
Read More »

BOOKS for November

  Daylight savings has abandoned us to the wet and chilly days that creep into early evenings… MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron In the vein of Elmore Leonard and John Kennedy Toole, Cameron brings us …
Read More »

Books for Bathtub Gin Drinkers

Two books devoted to that volatile and endlessly fascinating era… Bohemians, Bootleggers, Flappers & Swells Edited by Graydon Carter Drawing from the best of the Vanity Fair archive, this selection of essays, poems, stories and columns from the early days are …
Read More »

ACCENT: THE MONOGRAM MURDERS by Sophie Hannah

It’s no easy feat to write a “new” Agatha Christie book with the beloved Hercule Poirot. One can almost hear him making a snide comment about it himself. Purists are hoping for failure. Fans are hoping they won’t be disappointed. …
Read More »

BOOKS for October

  OCTOBER The crows above the forest call; Tomorrow they may form and go. O hushed October morning mild, Begin the hours of this day slow. Make the day seem to us less brief. Hearts not averse to being beguiled, …
Read More »

REVIEW: THE ART OF THE ENGLISH MURDER by Lucy Worsley

  Lucy has the best job in England. She is curator for the Historic Royal Palaces, which means she has access to some of the coolest artifacts in the UK. She began her career by studying history, then becoming an …
Read More »

ACCENT: JUST MY TYPO by Drummond Moir

  There is something endearing and disarming about typos. The idea that even the professionals can make a mistake helps us all relax about our own weaknesses. And it’s usually good for a laugh. Drummond Moir has assembled a book …
Read More »

ACCENT: A Little Russian Collection

  Gregory Maguire, best known for his Wicked books, is back with another revisionist fairy tale. This time, he weaves together classic Russian elements — Baba Yaga, Faberge eggs, endless train tracks, snow laden countryside — in this middle grade novel. …
Read More »

Peering Anew at My Own World - INTERVIEW WITH MICHAEL SIMS

I had the great honor to interview writer and editor Michael Sims about his newest book, The Phantom Coach and pick his brain about growing up in rural Tennessee, the (super)natural and what the ghost stories of our time will be …
Read More »

SUMMER OF CHRISTIE: After the Funeral

Alright, we are wrapping up the Summer of Christie and Sophie Hannah’s new Poirot mystery The Monogram Murders is just around the corner. I’d like to thank Book Club Girl for hosting our discussions and to Kaitlin at William Morrow for sending us …
Read More »

Books for September

  Somehow, it is already September. Soon, clocks will turn back and afternoons will turn into night even sooner. Throw blankets will become part of the household wardrobe and a warm mug of tea a necessity. Here are some titles …
Read More »

Older Entries »

Comments are closed.