Book Reviews

A Cineaste’s Bookshelf

Click here for information about my book review policy.

REVIEW: THE BOOKSHOP & others by Penelope Fitzgerald

It’s okay if you haven’t heard of Penelope Fitzgerald. I hadn’t either. I’m an English major who loves British literature and I didn’t even recognize the name, let alone seen any of her stuff. I am not a “cut-and-paster” but …
Read More »

ACCENT: THE FORGERS by Bradford Morrow

    One of my favorite authors is back with a new mystery novel — and it centers around books. The (unreliable?) narrator, Will, is a master forger. He specialized in faking inscriptions and small pieces of ephemera by classic …
Read More »

BOOKS for November

  Daylight savings has abandoned us to the wet and chilly days that creep into early evenings… MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron In the vein of Elmore Leonard and John Kennedy Toole, Cameron brings us …
Read More »

Books for Bathtub Gin Drinkers

Two books devoted to that volatile and endlessly fascinating era… Bohemians, Bootleggers, Flappers & Swells Edited by Graydon Carter Drawing from the best of the Vanity Fair archive, this selection of essays, poems, stories and columns from the early days are …
Read More »

ACCENT: THE MONOGRAM MURDERS by Sophie Hannah

It’s no easy feat to write a “new” Agatha Christie book with the beloved Hercule Poirot. One can almost hear him making a snide comment about it himself. Purists are hoping for failure. Fans are hoping they won’t be disappointed. …
Read More »

BOOKS for October

  OCTOBER The crows above the forest call; Tomorrow they may form and go. O hushed October morning mild, Begin the hours of this day slow. Make the day seem to us less brief. Hearts not averse to being beguiled, …
Read More »

REVIEW: THE ART OF THE ENGLISH MURDER by Lucy Worsley

  Lucy has the best job in England. She is curator for the Historic Royal Palaces, which means she has access to some of the coolest artifacts in the UK. She began her career by studying history, then becoming an …
Read More »

ACCENT: JUST MY TYPO by Drummond Moir

  There is something endearing and disarming about typos. The idea that even the professionals can make a mistake helps us all relax about our own weaknesses. And it’s usually good for a laugh. Drummond Moir has assembled a book …
Read More »

ACCENT: A Little Russian Collection

  Gregory Maguire, best known for his Wicked books, is back with another revisionist fairy tale. This time, he weaves together classic Russian elements — Baba Yaga, Faberge eggs, endless train tracks, snow laden countryside — in this middle grade novel. …
Read More »

Peering Anew at My Own World - INTERVIEW WITH MICHAEL SIMS

I had the great honor to interview writer and editor Michael Sims about his newest book, The Phantom Coach and pick his brain about growing up in rural Tennessee, the (super)natural and what the ghost stories of our time will be …
Read More »

SUMMER OF CHRISTIE: After the Funeral

Alright, we are wrapping up the Summer of Christie and Sophie Hannah’s new Poirot mystery The Monogram Murders is just around the corner. I’d like to thank Book Club Girl for hosting our discussions and to Kaitlin at William Morrow for sending us …
Read More »

Books for September

  Somehow, it is already September. Soon, clocks will turn back and afternoons will turn into night even sooner. Throw blankets will become part of the household wardrobe and a warm mug of tea a necessity. Here are some titles …
Read More »

REVIEW: THE PHANTOM COACH by Michael Sims

Michael Sims has once again curated a fascinating and perhaps unexpected collection of stories for the Victorian reader. None of these stories rely on scare tactics as such. They are unsettling. They get into your head and rattle around, like a …
Read More »

SUMMER OF CHRISTIE: Dead Man's Folly - Part 2

So, who caught the premiere of DEAD MAN’S FOLLY with David Suchet last night? It was great fun and am so glad to see Poirot once again. As part of the Summer of Christie, and gearing up for Sophie Hannah’s MONOGRAM …
Read More »

BOOKS for August

I can’t believe August is already here! I feel like I just watched the fireworks for the new year. Down here in the South, the days are long and humid. High noon is spent hiding inside from the worst of …
Read More »

Older Entries »

Comments are closed.